Rothschild Prizes 2024

In 1959, Yad Hanadiv established the Rothschild Prizes to support, encourage and advance the Sciences and Humanities in Israel. Prizes are awarded in recognition of an outstanding scientific achievement, breakthrough or discovery in the following disciplines: Mathematics, Computer Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, Jewish Studies, and Humanities. 

In 2024 up to seven prizes will be awarded in the following categories: Chemical Sciences, Computer Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences. Files will be reviewed by a specially appointed committee, chaired by Professor Joseph Klafter. Please read the requirements carefully, as the eligibility criteria have been revised.

General Information 

To be eligible, candidates must be full-time faculty at Israeli institutions of higher education. Emeritus faculty are not eligible to receive the Prize. ​

Candidates will be considered only if a complete set of supporting material in English has been received by the deadline.

Materials must include:

  • A summary (up to 1200 words) which describes the main scientific achievement, breakthrough or discovery for which the candidate is being nominated, and its importance and impact on the discipline and beyond
  • The candidate’s CV
  • A list of key publications relating to this achievement

Nominations must reach Yad Hanadiv by midnight, 17 May 2023, Israel time.

For more information about the Prize and previous winners, see the Rothschild Prize page on our website.

Questions about the nomination process and supporting materials may be referred to Ms Daniella Armoni,